You can remove personal data from a booking and make it anonymous at the guest’s request.
- Open the particular booking and make sure the checkbox “Checked Out” is checked by front desk and that the guest has checked out, and paid.
- A red “anonymous person” icon will now appear, in the “guest information” section of the booking, to the left of the “Edit” button. If you can’t see it, repeat the “checked out” step above.
- Click on the “anonymous person” icon.
- A warning message will appear, saying: “Are you sure? Deleting personal data from bookings means that you will be unable to find this booking using customer personal data like name, email etc. This operation can`t be reverted!”
- Click “Delete”, and the guest information is now blanked out.
GDPR compliance does not require that you delete bookings or make them anonymous straight away, after a guest has checked out and paid, even if some claim it does. But, on the other hand, a hotel is obligated to immediately delete personal data if requested to do so by the guest, after they have checked out (and paid) . There is no timeframe set in the GDPR for keeping of personal info, but it should never be kept longer than necessary. This tool is a good way to keep the system GDPR compliant while still keeping the bookings for statistics of sales and occupancy, instead of deleting them.